Posted by: maboulette | May 17, 2017

To Fans of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle


Prince Harry and Meghan Markle

Fans of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle’s budding romance can rejoice.

DEBATE OVER CHURCH LAWS

A spokesman for Westminster Abbey has just confirmed that the pair could marry in the grand location if they so chose.  There has been debate over whether divorcee Meghan would be able to have a wedding in the same place as the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.

SPOKESMAN

However, a spokesman told the Express: “The Abbey follows the General Synod Ruling of 2002. Since then, it has been possible for divorced people to be married in the Church of England.”

So, there is no reason they cannot get engaged – soon I hope!

PREVIOUS MARRIAGE

The actress previously married producer Trevor Engelson in 2011, divorcing in 2013. The couple wed in a Jewish ceremony; another fact that has proven to be divisive.

ROYAL FAMILY

Yet there is no law stating that a member of the royal family cannot marry someone of a different faith. It used to be illegal for anyone in direct succession to the throne to marry a Catholic but this was amended in 2015.

ROMAN CATHOLIC

But a Roman Catholic is still unable to become monarch due to the King or Queen gaining the title of the head of the Church of England.

ONLY THING

The only thing Harry would need to marry Meghan would be written permission from the Queen. It is believed the pair would also require a special license from the Archbishop of Canterbury due to Meghan’s previous marriage.

If Harry marries Meghan, he wouldn’t be the first to wed a divorcee. His father, Prince Charles, married Camilla Parker-Bowles in 2005.  However, Prince Charles decided to keep things low-key with a civil ceremony held at Windsor Guildhall.

Related content 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: