Posted by: maboulette | March 28, 2017

McDonald’s Worker, 94, Honored For 44 Years of Service


McDonalds

A 94-year-old Evansville, Ind. woman was celebrated for her 44 years of dedicated service at a variety of local McDonald’s restaurants.

LORAINE MAURER

Loraine Maurer, who is currently employed at the North Green River location, was surrounded by dozens of family, friends and community members inside the burger joint last Thursday.

INTERVIEW

In an interview with the Courier & Press, a smiling Maurer said most of her time spent over the last several years was in full swing, running operations at the fast-food place.

“I get in here at 5 o’clock when they open. I have to get up at three,” Maurer said.

“I started at the first one in town over there by Glenwood school … From there, I went to Covert Avenue, and I worked there a long time, very long time.”

Maurer revealed she has kept an extraordinarily close relationship to her regulars.

“If the weather was bad, [my customers] would come after me in the morning, and when my shift was over, they came over to McDonald’s and picked me up and took me home. You can’t ask for more than that,” she added.

“I would never want to be a manager. I want to deal with my customers. I want to be in contact with them.”

Despite working demanding hours at the restaurant and losing her husband years back, Maurer has continued to live her life to the fullest.

“[My girlfriend and I] have traveled all over the world … When I fly over the cities, I look for the Arch.”

Related contents

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

